University of FloridaUniversity of Florida Libraries
Admin Sign In 

ENC 3254: Writing for Premeds 

Websites and library-subscribed sources to help with your assignments
Last update: Nov 16th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.uflib.ufl.edu/premeds3254  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Finding books

Library Catalog (Books, E-books, Journals, Videos, & More)

 

UF has many different subject-based libraries, and you may need to visit several of them to pick up printed books on your topic.

 

Off-campus access

For off-campus access to library-licensed e-Journals, research databases and e-resources, use either:

UF VPN - or - the library proxy server (on the remote logon page)

When you see Find@UF in your search results, click for access to digital full-text material.

 
 

Writing for Premeds

Welcome to students in ENC 3254: Writing for Premeds. This website will guide you efficiently to free and library-subscribed resources that will help you with assignments in this course.

Find journal articles through Medline and other specialized databases and indexes.

Websites directs you to consumer and government-sponsored websites.

See more specific heath and medical guides from the Health Science Center Libraries.

 

Featured Sites

One-stop service "to help physicians efficiently find answers to pressing clinical questions and make better treatment decisions."  Searches and links to selected medical reference books; full-text journals; Clinics of North America; simultaneous searching of the full text of selected online journals and millions of MEDLINE abstracts; practice guidelines; customizable Patient Education handouts; drug information; and more.

MEDPEDIA beta  is a long-term, worldwide project to evolve a new model for sharing and advancing knowledge about health, medicine and the body among medical professionals and the general public.  Only physicians and Ph.D.s are allowed to edit the Articles on Medpedia.

 

RefWorks

Use RefWorks to manage your bibliographic citations and create works cited pages at the click of a button!

Import citations from article databases and output them in BibTeX, HTML, Word, or Open Office format.

See quick guide for instructions on setting up your free UF account.

Another web-based option is EndNote Web.  Register from UF at http://isiknowledge.com/ or http://www.myendnoteweb.com/. Once registered, login directly at http://www.myendnoteweb.com/.

 
 

Is it refereed?

To find out if a journal is peer reviewed (also known as refereed), you can use the Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory.  Search by journal title, ISSN, etc. and look for the tiny referee shirt as an indicator.  More details....

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait