Books and E-BooksEU Law ResourcesInternational Affairs

Home

      
     Search:
   

 
Quick Links

EU in Brief
Includes brief history, flag, anthem, descriptions of the major organizations and processes of EU and links to further readings. (Washington Delegation)

Institutions
Describes the EU institutions and links to their homepages (Europa)

Agencies
Links to EU-related agency homepages (Europa)

Policies
Extensive list of EU policies, from agriculture to transport. Each entry includes an overview, EU treaty basis, legislation in force and under consideration, national implementation, and other sources of information. (Europa)

Activities
This site gives a summary of the main legislative measures and procedures for each of the activities of the European Union. (Europa- ScadPlus)
These links include introduction, specific areas of activities and programs within the larger area, and greater coverage of the social aspects.
Expanded listing of areas of EU activities and interests

Current Events
Short explanations of current hot topics, and links to the major web sites covering these areas. (Europa)


 

 
Browsing Guide

EU-Specific Resources

ECLAS

The Commission's Central Library database. One can search for books, articles, and documents by and about the EU. Includes links to Internet resources on European affairs.(Europa)

Subject Index to EU Web Sites

Maintained by the Washington Delegation. May point to the top page instead of a specific page within a web site.(Washington Delegation)

Policy Index

Each subject entry includes an overview, EU law, implementation actions, and more sources. (Europa)

Europa Search Engine

Provides advanced search features for the extensive Europa website.

Official News Sources

News releases announce decisions, new initiatives. Speeches can be used as policy statements. Rapid is the major news databank for the Commission, covering most aspects of EU activities.

Other News Sources

EUBusiness.com
Managed and owned by EUbusiness Ltd in the United Kingdom, and in partnership with ICP Europe Publishing plc, this site seeks to provide free, regularly updated news and information about EU policy, legislation, documents and economic data, linked to premium, paid-for content and services.

EUObserver.com
An independent news site published by EUobserver.com ASBL, a non-profit association registered under Belgian law.

EurActiv.com
Strives to facilitate efficiency and transparency of that "Community" by providing news monitoring, policy positions, discussion forums and contacts on selected EU affairs topics, complementing the existing institutional websites.


 
 

EU Guide: Basic Indexes and Finding Aids

General Resources

UF Libraries Catalog

Includes books and the EU depository collection, with links to electronic copies of books and journals.

UF Libraries Home Page

Access to the variety of E-journals and databases the Libraries offer researchers. Use the Database Locator, for easiest access to the databases.

Academic Index

Multidisciplinary index to articles in scholarly journals. Includes some abstracts and many full text articles. Access limited to SUS researchers.

EBSCOHost Web

Indexes a broad range of academic, business or health related journals. Choose an area from the menu. Thousands of full-text articles are included. Access limited to UF researchers

Business Index

Includes topics such as business, management, industry, world affairs, case studies, technology, and industry profiles. Database contains many full-text articles. Access limited to SUS researchers.

Colombia International Affairs Online (CIAO)

Comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Entirely full-text. Access limited to UF researchers.

Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS)

Bibliographic database includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs. Contains some full-text articles. Access limited to SUS researchers.

      

     

    Statistics

    Eurostat
    Free indicators, Statistics in Focus

    SourceOECD Statistics

    FAO Stat
    Worldwide agricultural statistics.
    Use Database Locator to connect.

    LexisNexis Statistical (formerly Statistical Universe)

    International Statistics

        

       
       

      Subject Guide

      Chelsea Dinsmore

      My Contact Info:
      Government Documents Department
      Marston Science Library
      (352) 273-0369
      Email Me

      My Links:
      My Profile & Guides

      My Subjects:
      International Documents

       
      Print This Page
      Print Entire Guide

      Description

        Loading content... please wait