Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of FloridaUniversity of Florida Libraries
Admin Sign In 

CHM4411L/CHM4413L : Physical & Biophysical Chemistry Lab 

Resources to help you with your library lab.
Last update: Oct 02nd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.uflib.ufl.edu/chm4411  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Property Data             Print Page
  
 

Web sites by Property

The following is a listing of properties. Clicking on a property will take you to a listing of websites that have values for the property.

 
 

Physical & Chemical Properties

Physical and chemical properties are first reported in the primary chemical literature (i.e. journal articles and patent applications). Later, book editors and database providers compile the data into tables and charts so one can easily find multiple properties for a single compound. The UF Libraries have many print and online data compilations where you can find property information. The following resources are listed in the order you should look in when searching for property data (easiest to more difficult).
 

Finding Property Data in Databases

Off campus? Log on using Remote Logon first

Knovel: Knovel provides digitized versions of many of the property books available in the UF Libraries. You can go directly to the property information you are searching for using the advanced search.

Scifinder Scholar: To find property data in SciFinder Scholar you must first search for the substance of interest. Then you can view the experimental and calculated properties available for the substance.

The Dictionary of Substances and their Effects (DOSE): Find physical properties, occupational exposure limits, mammalian and avian toxicity, genotoxicity, ecotoxicity, environmental fate, plus regulatory requirements including risk and safety phrases for over 4100 chemicals in DOSE.

CrossFire Commander: CrossFire Commander provides property information for organic, inorganic and organometallic compounds. Use the Beilstein database to find organic information and the Gmelin database to find inorganic and organometallic information.
 

Finding Property Data on Websites

Following are some of the best property web sites. Start with these when beginning your research. Check out the list of web sites at the left if you cannot find what you're looking for here.

NIST Chemistry WebBook: The NIST Chemistry WebBook provides users with easy access to chemical and physical property data for chemical species through the internet. The data provided in the site are from collections maintained by the NIST Standard Reference Data Program.

MatWeb: The heart of MatWeb is a searchable database of material data sheets, including property information on thermoplastic and thermoset polymers, metals, ceramics, semiconductors, fibers and other engineering materials.

ChemIDplus: A free database of 380000 chemical compounds. Records consist of name, synonyms, CAS number, molecular formula, and direct links to biomedical resources. Published by the National Library of Medicine.

NIST Data Gateway: The NIST Data Gateway provides easy access to NIST scientific and technical data. These data cover a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines.

Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data Search: Use this website to search for properties reported in the Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data, a journal published by the American Institute of Physics (AIP) for the National Institute of Standards

TOXNET: Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
 
 

Finding Property Data in Books

To locate books about a specific property: Perform a subject heading search in the library catalog. For example, to locate books with information about bond angles, search for "property data: bond angles".
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait