Off-campus access
For off-campus access to online journals, databases and e-books, use either:
UF VPN - or - the remote logon page.
When you see
in your search results, click for access to digital
full-text material.
Looking for a specific article?
Journal article citations usually look similar to this:
Authorname, A.B. (2008). "Title of article." Journal Name. Vol 25, issue 3, pages 47-58.
Search the Library Catalog for the Journal Name to see if UF subscribes to the journal.
You may see 2 records in the Catalog for your Journal Name.
- One record has a link to the online version of the journal, and tells you which years we have online.
- Another record tells you the library, call number (shelf location), and inventory (volumes and issues) that we have in print.
Journal Article Databases
The following databases are also helpful when doing research in physical chemistry:
- Web of Science
Web of Science is a general science database best known for its citation searching capabilities. It has good coverage of chemistry, but mostly limited to articles from core journals. This database can also help you study how an idea has evolved over time. - PubMed (with UF links)

The source for biomedical information! - Google Scholar
Google's answer to the citation database. Works much like google in that articles are ranked by "popularity". Only goes back to the mid-1990's so not as comprehensive as Web of Science. Great for finding conference proceedings & technical reports, though. - arXiv
is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. It covers areas such as physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, and computer science.
SciFinder Scholar
For your assignment you will need to use SciFinder Scholar. There are a few things you need to know about SciFinder Scholar before getting started:
- Accessing SciFinder: Register for an account. After you have registered, you may Connect directly to SFS and log in.
- Off-campus access: If you will be using SciFinder off-campus (at home or wherever), you must use the UF VPN or the library proxy.
- View the SciFinder User Guides to learn how to search by structure, molecular formula, and more.
Subject Guide |
Denise BennettContact Info:
206 MSL
273-2864
Send Email
Subjects:
Computer & Information Science & Engineering, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Industrial & Systems Engineering
206 MSL
273-2864
Send Email
Subjects:
Computer & Information Science & Engineering, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Industrial & Systems Engineering
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait