Major Societies
- Florida Entomological Society The largest state entomological society in the USA. Membership in the society includes scientists from state and federal agencies as well as industry, commercial pest control operators, consultants, teachers, students and hobbyists from Florida and other regions of the USA and many foreign countries.
- Entomological Society of America (ESA) The largest organization in the world serving the professional and scientific needs of entomologists and people in related disciplines.
- Directory of Professional Societies List of entomology societies worldwide.
- Society of Nematologists An international organization formed to advance the science of nematology in both its fundamental and economic aspects.
- Organization of Nematologists of Tropical America (ONTA) A nonprofit entity comprised of members who have an interest in the study of plant-parasitic, free-living and insect-parasitic nematodes. ONTA now has over 400 members worldwide. Membership is open to all individuals and companies that share an interest in subtropical and tropical Nematology.
- International Federation of Nematology Societies Aims to foster communication among nematologists worldwide, through national and regional nematology societies. It also aims to enhance overall awareness of nematodes and the science of nematology.
Top Internet Resources
Freely available on the web.
- Iowa State Entomology Index of Internet Resources This comprehensive guide attempt to organize the thousands of informational resources available to entomologists. The original compilation was done in the early 1990's by L.B. Bjostad of Colorado State University and John VanDyk of Iowa State University.
- Antbase (Formis) A collaborative effort between scientists from around the world, aiming at providing the best possible access to the wealth of information on ants, to fulfill the conservation needs of the International Union for the Study of Social Insects (IUSSI), and the Species Survival Commission of the World Conservation Union (IUCN).
- HOSTS - a Database of the World's Lepidopteran Hostplants UK's Natural History Museum brings together an enormous body of information on what the world's butterfly and moth (Lepidoptera) caterpillars eat. The web-based version presented here offers a synoptic data set drawn from about 180,000 records comprising taxonomically 'cleaned' hostplant data for about 22,000 Lepidoptera species drawn from about 1600 published and manuscript sources.
- Dragonflies and Damselflies (Odonata) in the United States (USGS) Sponsored by the USGS, this database is a "work in progress," consisting of information on the known distribution of Dragonflies and Damselflies (Odonata) in the United States. Distribution maps and county checklists were created by extracting information on Odonata distribution from publications listed in references.
- NAPIS Pest Tracker This website publishes survey maps for pests of agricultural and forest commodities and provides links to pest news and information. The National Agricultural Pest Information System (NAPIS) stores and manages pest survey data that is collected by CAPS and other PPQ survey programs. Detection surveys are one tool used to manage the introduction of exotic pests.
- University of Florida Book of Insect Records (UFBIR) Names insect champions and documents their achievements. Each chapter deals with a different category of record.
- Butterfly Rainforest (Image Database)
- Kew 250 To produce basic and applied information about plant-and fungal-related topics. This aim is carried out through science and research in systematics, biological interactions, economic botany, conservation and horticulture.
- Plants Database Provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
- University of Florida Herbarium (FLAS)
- University of Florida Entomology & Nematology Newsletter
Subject Guide |
Michelle FossOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Marston Science Library
201 b
352-273-2866
Send Email
Subjects:
Animal Sciences, Entomology & Nematology, Microbiology & Cell Science, Soil & Water Science, Water Institute, Patents & Trademarks
![]() |
Contact Info:
Marston Science Library
201 b
352-273-2866
Send Email
Subjects:
Animal Sciences, Entomology & Nematology, Microbiology & Cell Science, Soil & Water Science, Water Institute, Patents & Trademarks
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait