Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of FloridaUniversity of Florida Libraries
Admin Sign In 

Computer & Information Science & Engineering  Tags: engineering computer_science  

Need help with research? Find books, e-books, articles, and tips on accessing library resources from your CISE librarian.
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.uflib.ufl.edu/content.php?pid=7777  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Journal articles             Print Page
  

Technical Reports

  • arXiv  
      
    is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. It covers areas such as physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, and computer science.
  • CiteSeerX  
      
    is a scientific literature digital library that also provides algorithms, techniques, and software. Links cited documents and maintains list of most-cited authors in computer science.
  • CoRR Computing Research Repository  
      
    partnership of ACM, the Los Alamos e-print archive (arXiv), NCSTRL, and AAAI to build a single repository for computer science research reports.
  • Electronic Proceedings in Theoretical Computer Science (EPTCS)  
      
    is "an international refereed open access venue for the rapid electronic publication of the proceedings of workshops and conferences, and of festschriften, etc, in the general area of theoretical computer science, broadly construed."
  • E-print Network: Research Communications for Scientists and Engineers  
      
    gateway to over 26,000 Web sites and databases worldwide, containing 1.2 million e-prints primarily in physics but also chemistry, biology and life sciences, materials science, nuclear sciences and engineering, energy research, computing and IT.
 

Search hints

Use the Library Database Searchers' Cheat Sheet for hints on getting the most power out of searching databases. Soon, you'll wish you had this much power in Google!

 

Finding Journal Articles

Access restricted to current UF students/staff/faculty.

  • ACM Digital Library  
      
    contains "Full text of every article ever published by ACM."
  • IEEE Xplore Electronic Library (IEL)  
      
    provides indexing and full-text access to IEEE and IEE/IET transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards
  • Ei/Compendex/Engineering Index  
      
    is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world. Contains over 9 million records and references to over 5,000 international engineering sources including journal, conference, and trade publications, dating back to 1884.
  • CSA Technology databases  
      
    cover major areas of research, including materials science, environmental sciences and pollution management, biological sciences, aquatic sciences and fisheries, biotechnology, engineering, computer science.
  • Web of Science  
      
    Search multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world back to 1900. Also provides cited reference searching to see who has cited whom.
  • Computing Reviews  
      
    contains reviews in computing literature from Reviews.com and the ACM.
  • INSPEC  
      
    Indexes scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computing, and information technology, from 1970 to the present. Includes some books, reports, and dissertations. Older years (1896-1969) in Ei Village.
  • INSPEC Archive  
      
    includes years from 1896-1969
  • Academic Search Premier  
    Our top pick for a few good articles on any subject. Good for basic journals and multidisciplinary topics. For in-depth research, also search engineering-specific databases above.
 

Looking for one article?

Journal article citations usually look similar to this:

Authorname, A.B. (2008). "Title of article." Journal Name. Vol 25, issue 3, pages 47-58.

Search the Library Catalog for the Journal Name to see if UF subscribes to the journal.
You may see 2 records in the Catalog for your Journal Name.

  • One record has a link to the online version of the journal, and tells you which years we have online.
  • Another record tells you the library, call number (shelf location), and inventory (volumes and issues) that we have in print.

Stuck with a a journal abbreviation? Use JAbbr.

 
 

Off-campus access

For off-campus access to library-licensed e-Journals, research databases and e-resources, use either:

UF VPN - or - the library proxy server (on the remote logon page)

When you see Find@UF in your search results, click for access to digital full-text material.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait