Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of FloridaUniversity of Florida Libraries
Admin Sign In 

Patents and Trademarks 

Subject Guide for Patents and Trademarks
Last update: Jul 22nd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.uflib.ufl.edu/patents  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  

Introduction

UF Libraries are not a patent depository library.
Information provided on these patent and trademark pages is for general information purposes only. If you are seriously interested in obtaining a patent or trademark you should consult a patent attorney. Searches, especially keyword searches, are only preliminary and a patent attorney should be consulted for a thorough search.

US Patent & Trademark Office Homepage | Patent general information | Fee schedule | Forms | Electronic Business Center | US attorneys and agents | Florida attorneys and agents

University of Florida | Office of Technology Licensing UF faculty, staff and students needing patent information, working toward or applying for patents should consult this office.

Florida Patent Depository Libraries | Broward County Main Library | Miami-Dade Public Library | University of Central Florida Library | University of South Florida Library

Patent Depository Libraries | Listing

 

Patent Information

PATENTS provide protection to inventors so s/he can develop, market, or otherwise implement an invention for a limited period of time (currently 20 years for utility patents in the U.S.). UTILITY patents cover a function or process, either mechanical, chemical or electrical. PLANT patents pertain to the development of new plant characteristics. FOREIGN patents are issued by patent offices in other countries and may be obtained in addition to, or instead of, a U.S. patent. PATENT PENDING means a patent has been applied for but has not been issued yet. These patent applications are now searchable.

  • U.S. PATENT searching and is free through the U.S. Patent Database for 1790-present patents (for 1790-1975 only full image searches by patent number is available -and- for 1976-present full text is searchable by keyword). Patent applications searching is available as well (same website). U.S. patents are also searchable and available online for free at FreePatentsOnline. Access to patents from the Patent Office database is also available through GOOGLE which now has a search page specifically for patents.  See more options in the Patents Online tab.
  •  

  • INTERNATIONAL (FOREIGN) PATENT searching (and ordering) is available through the British Library with access to patent databases for Great Britain, European Countries (in native languages), Japan (Japanese with English abstracts), and the World Intellectual Property Organization.
  • NOTE: These may also be obtained directly from the pertinent patent offices or from commercial vendors.

     

  • Patent Print Documents. Publications in print from the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office are available for manual searching. These documents are located in the Libraries Government Documents Department (MSL 1st floor). For a more detailed description of these documents and how to use them for searching, refer to the Patents - Print Sources tab.
  •  

    Subject Guide

    Profile ImageVernon Kisling
    Contact Info:
    Marston Science Library
    UF, POB 117011, Gainesville FL 32611-7011
    352-273-2865 / 352-392-4787 FAX
    Send Email

    Subjects:
    Environmental Sciences, Agriculture, History of Science

    Subject Guide

    Profile ImageMichelle Foss
    Online Chat / Networks:

    Contact Info:
    Marston Science Library
    201 b
    352-273-2866
    Send Email

    Subjects:
    Animal Sciences, Entomology & Nematology, Microbiology & Cell Science, Soil & Water Science, Water Institute, Patents & Trademarks

     

    Browsing Guide

    Looking for books about patents and patenting?

    T 201-342 Science Library
    C21 Government Documents
    KF 3114-3133
    Legal Information Center
    e-books Patents / Trademarks
    e-books Intellectual Property & Licensing
     

    Quick Links

    Library Catalog

    Course Reserves

    Request a Book

    Databases

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait