Other Online Encyclopedias
Articles chop up your topic into little, narrow questions. If you find 5 articles, each presenting a narrow study, it's often hard to see how they fit together and what question they are all trying to answer.
Encyclopedia articles and books can give you overviews of your topic and lead you to the important questions asked by researchers. Subject specific encyclopedias contain articles written by experts in their fields and should put your idea or question into a historical, research, or social context. They will also lead you to further references.
- Encyclopedia of African American Society
- Encyclopedia of Black Studies
- Encyclopedia of Bioethics, 3rd Ed., 5v, 2004
- The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics
- Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History , 2nd ed., 6v, 2006
- Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America , 3v, 1997
- Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media
- Immigration and Multiculturalism: Essential Primary Sources , 2007
- Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology
- Human and Civil Rights: Essential Primary Sources , 2007
- Encyclopedia of Homelessness
- Notable Black American Men, Book II , 2007
Library Catalog
Oxford African American Studies Center
Oxford African American Studies Center includes "...all the material from Africana, which presents a powerful account of the African and African American experience in five volumes [and] the new Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 [which] documents the full range of the African American experience from the arrival of the black explorer, Esteban, who arrived with the Spanish in 1527, to the death of Frederick Douglass. A forthcoming companion set, the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present, offers the most extensive treatment of African American history into the twenty-first century and will be fully available online in 2009. Bringing the contribution of African American women to the fore is the fascinating three-volume Black Women in America, Second Edition, edited by Darlene Clark Hine. And finally, the much-anticipated African American National Biography African American history through the lives of its people, ultimately offering over 6,000 biographies."
Black Studies Center
Welcome to the Black Studies Center!
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more. This is a fablulous resource that very likely will light up your eyes when you see all the possibilities it offers you. A great place to start for most research on the African Diaspora.
It combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), historical black newspapers, and the Black Literature Index
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait