Databases and Indexes
Ejournals Print Journals
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of FloridaUniversity of Florida Libraries
Admin Sign In 

Classical Studies 

This will feature an array of research tools in Classics to support primarily the research of students and faculty at the University of Florida.
Last update: Sep 01st, 2009 URL: http://libguides.uflib.ufl.edu/classics  Print Guide  RSS Updates

LNH 6105: The Roman Tradition             Print Page
  
 

Guide to Research

LNW 6105: The Roman Tradition: some research tools

 

[Note:  Refworks is extremely useful for managing your citations in footnotes and bibliographies.  Create a refworks account at www.refworks.com/refworks and explore the online tutorial.]

 

Searching the catalog with LC Subject Headings: 

 

To find books on your topic in the online catalog, you can use keywords (either in isolation or combined) or controlled Library of Congress subject headings.   The use of LC subject headings can lead to more precise results.  To search the catalog with LC subject headings, select Subject Heading in the scroll bar; for best results enclose the subject headings in quotation marks.  Here are some subject headings you might be interested in trying:

 

“Latin Literature – history and criticism”                                 “Elegiac poetry, Latin”

“Literature and Society – Rome”                                               “Inscriptions, Latin”

“[author] – criticism and interpretation”                                   “Speeches, addresses, etc., Latin”

(e.g. “Horace – criticism and interpretation” )                         “Inscriptions, Latin”

“Latin poetry – history and criticism”                                       “Epic poetry, Latin”

 “Latin drama (comedy)”                                                            “Latin drama (tragedy)”

 “Satire, Latin”                                                                               “Rhetoric, Ancient”

“Rome – poetry”                                                                           “Love poetry, Latin”

“Epigrams, Latin”                                                                           "Historiography -- Rome"

 

LC Classification  (these can be browsed in the catalog or on the shelf):

 

PA6000-6971               Roman literature

PA6001-6097               Literary history

PA6100-6140                Collections

PA6141-6144               Criticism, interpretation, etc.

PA6155-6191               Translations

PA6202-6971               Individual authors                                                                              

 

Use the old catalog interface (Option 3 in Advanced search) to browse the subdivisions under a heading (try e.g. with Horace).

 

Online Indexes/Databases

(For more online resources in classical studies see under http://www.uflib.ufl.edu/cm/classics/)

 

L’Année Philologique (1924-2007).  Very scholarly and comprehensive.  Includes abstracts but no  or full text. http://www.annee-philologique.com/aph/

 

JSTOR:  Covers journals in full text back to the beginning.  Includes a fair number of classical studies journals.  http://www.jstor.com

TOCS-IN:  Table of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists (1992-).   Covers about 185 Classics journals. Has some links to articles in full text. http://www.chass.utoronto.ca/amphoras/tocs.html

Gnomon Online (covers 2005-2008 with an option to download the earlier years):  Scholarly multi-lingual citation database.  The thesaurus is useful for determining search terms. http://www.gnomon.ku-eichstaett.de/Gnomon/Gnomon.html

Google Scholar.  Finds scholarly articles and books on the web (many available in full text).  Also provides citations to the articles.  http://scholar.google.com

Diotima Bibliographies: Especially useful for material on women in antiquity. http://www.stoa.org/diotima/biblio.shtml

Dyabola: Contains scholarly articles on classical art and archaeology based upon the records of the German Archaeological Society. For password, see Blake.  http://www.dyabola.de/

Perseus  Digital Library:  Has much multi-media material, reference sources, and  Greek and Latin texts. http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/

Aufstieg und Niedergang der römischen Welt index:  an online index of the monographic series. http://www.cs.uky.edu/~raphael/scaife/anrw.html

Index to Johannes Graevius’ Thesaurus Antiquitatum Romanorum [in the Rare Books Department]: http://www.uflib.ufl.edu/spec/rarebook/graevius/graeviushome.htm

Some useful Reference works

(see also http://libguides.uflib.ufl.edu/classics)

 

Dictionary of bibliographic abbreviations found in the scholarship of classical studies and related disciplines. Westport, Conn: Praeger, 2004.
Library West Reference Collection PA99 .W44 2004

 Lemprière's Classical dictionary of proper names mentioned in ancient authors writ large: with a chronological table. Boston: Routledge & K. Paul, 1984.
Library West Reference Collection DE5 .L564 1984

 The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature. Howatson, M. C., and Paul Harvey.  2nd ed. Oxford ; New York: Oxford University Press, 1989.
PA31 .H69 1989 LIBRARY WEST:Reference (3rd Floor)

 Oxford classical dictionary. Simon Hornblower and Antony Spawforth, eds. 3rd. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1996.
Library West Reference Collection DE5 .09 1970

 Who's who in the Roman world. London ; New York: Routledge, 2001.
Library West Reference Collection DG203 .H39 2001

 Who was who in the Roman world, 753 BC-AD 476. Ithaca, N.Y. : Cornell University Press, 1980
Library West Reference Collection DG203 .W46

Encyclopedia of classical philosophy edited by Donald J. Zeyl ; associate editors, Daniel T. Devereux and Phillip K. Mitsis. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997.
Library West Reference Collection B163 .E53 1997

 Encyclopedia of the Roman Empire. New York : Facts on File, c1994.
Library West Reference Collection DG270 .B86 1994

 Brill's New Pauly : Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World. English .Boston: Brill, 2002-. Library West Reference Collection DE5.N4813 2002

 Oxford Latin dictionary. Oxford, London, Clarendon P., 1968-<1982>. v.
Library West Reference Collection PA2365 .E5 O9

 A history of Roman literature : from Livius Andronicus to Boethius : with special regard to its influence on world literature. Michael von Albrecht. New York : E.J. Brill, 1996.
PA6007 .A5513 1996 Library West

 Latin literature. E. J. Kenney. The Cambridge history of classical literature, 2. Cambridge New York: Cambridge University Press, 1982.
PA6003 .L3. Library West

Latin literature : a history. Conte, Gian Biagio. Baltimore ; London : Johns Hopkins University Press, c1994.
PA6008 .C6613 1994 Library West

Augustus to Nero : a sourcebook on Roman history, 31 BC-AD 68.
David C. Braund. London : Croom Helm, c1985.
Library West Reference Collection DG277.5 .B73 1985b

From the Gracchi to Nero: a history of Rome from 133 B.C. to A.D. 68
5th ed. H.H. Scullard. London: New York: Methuen, 1982.
DG254 .S35 1982 Library West

A history of the Roman world : 753-146 BC. Scullard, H. H. 4th ed. New York:Methuen, 1980.
DG231 .S35 1980 Library West

 Lexicon topographicum urbis Romae a cura di Eva Margareta Steinby. Roma : Quasar, c1993-
ARCH. and FINE ARTS ,Reference DG63 .L49 1993 

A new topographical dictionary of ancient Rome. Richardson, Lawrence Baltimore : Johns Hopkins University Press, c1992. DG68 .R5 1992

Classical Scholarship : An Annotated Bibliography.  Halton, Thomas P., and Stella O'Leary.  White Plains, NY: Kraus International, 1986.
DE59 .H34 1986 LIBRARY WEST:Reference (3rd Floor)
.

 Ancient Greece and Rome : A Bibliographical Guide. Hopwood, Keith. Manchester ; New York; New York: Manchester University Press; Distributed exclusively in the USA and Canada by St. Martin's Press, 1995.
DE86 .H67 1995 LIBRARY WEST:Reference (3rd Floor)
.

 Barrington atlas of the Greek and Roman world edited by Richard J.A. Talbert, in collaboration with Roger S..Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press, 2000.
Library West Reference Atlas Stand: G1033 .B3 2000

 Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum. Berlin: Akademie der Wissenschaften,  1862. CN520 .C6 SMATHERS, Special Collections Rare Books (Non-Circulating).

 Index Numerorum : Ein Findbuch Zum Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum. Vol. ser. nova, v. 1. Berlin ; New York: De Gruyter,  2003.
CN520.C6 F37 2003 ReferenceSMATHERS, Special Collections Rare Books (Non-Circulating)
.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageBlake Landor
Contact Info:
521 Library West
273-2644
Send Email

Subjects:
Philosophy, Classics, Religion, General Humanities

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait