Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of FloridaUniversity of Florida Libraries
Admin Sign In 

ENC 3254: Professional Communication for Engineers  Tags: engineering  

Resources to help you complete your assignments
Last update: Nov 18th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.uflib.ufl.edu/enc3254  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Patents & Standards             Print Page
  
 

Standards at UF

The UF Libraries have full text of:

* All current IEEE standards through the IEEE/IEE Electronic Library (IEL).

* 2006 Annual Book of ASTM Standards in the Science Library, Reference (main floor) TA 401 .A653. Many older ASTM standards on 4th floor.

* 2007 ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, Section II - Materials online via Knovel.

* ANSI University Outreach Program for ISO and IEC Standards - instructors must enroll.

Standards websites

See what standards organizations do, and purchase standards not available through the library.  Many more options on the Standards Guide.

 

Patents

Patent websites vary in coverage. Some only have full text or images for recent years. Some have better quality images than others. In some search engines, keywords only work on recent years. If you are doing a full, deep, and serious search, be sure to identify and search on the patent classifications (see details on the Patents Guide) as well as keywords.

There are three types of U.S. patents:
1) Utility patents may be granted to anyone who invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, article of manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof;
2) Design patents may be granted to anyone who invents a new, original, and ornamental design for an article of manufacture; and
3) Plant patents may be granted to anyone who invents or discovers and asexually reproduces any distinct and new variety of plant.
(from USPTO website)

... and patents include definitions of terms used. Remember, though, that patents are written by attorneys and not by engineers!

  • U.S. Patent Database  
      
    has patents from 1790-present. For 1790-1975, you need the patent number to retrieve full images (no keyword searching). For 1976-present, keyword-search the full text. also searches patent applications. Images require special TIFF viewer.
  • Google Patent Search  
      
    Keyword search, or use the Advanced Patent Search page to search by patent number, inventor, and filing date. Has more PDFs of older (pre-1976) patents. Doesn't have most recent months.
  • Patent Lens  
      
    searches US (USPTO), European (EPO), Australian (AU), and World (WIPO) patents, together or separately, with coverage only back to 1976 at earliest.
  • esp@cenet  
      
    Search the European Patents or patents from individual European countries. Dates of coverage vary by country.
  • FreePatentsOnline  
      
    searches U.S. patents. Offers advanced searching techniques. Displays most popular topics and companies. Full-text is not available for some documents prior to 1976. Displays lots of ads.
 

A better idea?

patent for backpack with umbrella support

US Patent 6,503,385 for backpack with umbrella support

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait