Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of FloridaUniversity of Florida Libraries
Admin Sign In 

ENC 3254: Professional Communication for Engineers  Tags: engineering  

Resources to help you complete your assignments
Last update: Nov 18th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.uflib.ufl.edu/enc3254  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Journal articles             Print Page
  

Technical Reports

  • arXiv  
      
    is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. It covers areas such as physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, and computer science.
  • E-print Network: Research Communications for Scientists and Engineers  
      
    gateway to over 26,000 Web sites and databases worldwide, containing 1.2 million e-prints primarily in physics but also chemistry, biology and life sciences, materials science, nuclear sciences and engineering, energy research, computing and IT.
  • NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)  
      
    searches databases from one or several NASA laboratories and space centers, including RECON, NACA reports, and the Astrophysics Data System. Includes citations to literature as far back as 1915.
  • TRIS  
      
    is the world's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic resource on transportation information, produced and maintained by the Transportation Research Board.
  • Science.gov  
      
    is a "gateway" to selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including USDA, Defense, Energy, Interior, EPA, NASA, NSF.
  • NTIS  
      
    for publications of government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related information. Reports from 1997+ and less than 20 pages long are free.
  • DOE Data Explorer  
      
    Find scientific research data - such as computer simulations, numeric data files, figures and plots, interactive maps, multimedia, and scientific images - generated in the course of DOE-sponsored research in science disciplines. Click on Content Type.
 

Finding Journal Articles

Access to these databases is restricted to current UF students/staff/faculty.

To see complete lists of indexes and databases, choose an engineering subdiscipline from Subject Guides. Top picks that cover many areas of engineering are:

  • Academic Search Premier  
    Our top pick for a few good articles on any subject. Good for basic journals and multidisciplinary topics. For in-depth research, also search engineering-specific databases below.
  • Compendex / Engineering Index  
      
    is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world. Contains over 9 million records and references to over 5,000 international engineering sources including journal, conference, and trade publications, dating back to 1884.
  • CSA Technology databases  
      
    cover major areas of research, including materials science, environmental sciences and pollution management, biological sciences, aquatic sciences and fisheries, biotechnology, engineering, computer science.
  • IEEE Xplore Electronic Library (IEL)  
      
    provides indexing and full-text access to IEEE and IEE/IET transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 (some older) and all current IEEE standards
  • Web of Science  
      
    Search multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world back to 1900. Also provides cited reference searching to see who has cited whom.
  • INSPEC  
      
    Indexes scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computing, and information technology, from 1896 to the present. Includes some books, reports, and dissertations.
 

Is it peer reviewed/refereed?

Q. Which journals have peer-reviewed articles?

A. To find out if a journal is peer reviewed (also known as refereed), you can use the Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory. Search by journal title, ISSN, etc. and look for the tiny referee shirt as an indicator.

Q. How do I know if an article is peer-reviewed?

A. Not every article in a peer-reviewed journal is a peer-reviewed article. Some scholarly journals also publish letters, conference notes, news items, etc. Look at the full text of the article you're interested in. A peer-reviewed article will show a string of dates, usually either near the abstract or at the bottom of the 1st page of the PDF version or at the end of the article, to indicate that the article was reviewed and usually revised.

Example: Manuscript received November 9, 2007; revised March 5, 2008. Published September 4, 2008.

 
 

Off-campus access

For off-campus access to library-licensed e-Journals, research databases and e-resources, use either:

UF VPN - or - the library proxy server (on the remote logon page)

When you see Find@UF in your search results, click for access to digital full-text material.

 

Search hints

Use the Library Database Searchers' Cheat Sheet for hints on getting the most power out of searching databases. Soon, you'll wish you had this much power in Google!

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait