Finding books
Library Catalog (Books, E-books, Journals, Videos, & More)
Most of the print engineering books are in the Marston Science Library, but books on topics such as economics and business are more likely on the shelves of Library West.
If you would like to browse the shelves, note the call numbers on each of the specific Engineering Subject Guides.
Off-campus access
For off-campus access to library-licensed e-Journals, research databases and e-resources, use either:
UF VPN - or - the library proxy server (on the remote logon page)
When you see
in your search results, click for access to digital
full-text material.
E-books - for current UF students/staff/faculty.
You may find links to individual e-books through the Library Catalog. Here are some e-book services that specialize in areas of engineering. Newly-added books will appear in these services before they show up in the Library Catalog.
Books24x7 contains thousands of e-books. UF licenses 3 collections:
- The EngineeringPro collection includes general reference topics important to all engineering professionals, whether looking for quick answers to problems or specific information for a project, learning new skills or refreshing existing ones.
- The ITPro collection includes books for IT professionals, programmers, database and web designers and administrators, network managers, tech support staff, and more. Includes popular series such as The Complete Reference, Inside Out, Bibles as well as many highly technical series such as IBM Redbooks.
- The BusinessPro collection includes books on all areas of business, including quality and manufacturing management, operational risk, project management, and technology in business.
Knovel has over 700 handbooks, databases, encyclopedias, reference books, and standards from the world's leading publishers and professional societies in engineering, biotechnology, life sciences, chemistry and materials. Knovel's productivity tools, (including interactive tables, graphs and live equations) allow users to work within Knovel to analyze the data they find.
The Materials & Mechanical Collection from Referex Engineering includes handbooks and practical guides for professional engineers from Butterworth-Heinemann, Elsevier, and Academic Press across the spectrum of mechanical and materials engineering - covering automotive, aeronautical, marine, metallurgy, tribology, maintenance, quality systems, health and safety. Includes handbooks of engineering fundamentals, quick reference, titles focused on technique and practice, “how to” guides, and highly specialized professional information. Accessed through Engineering Village 2.
NetLibrary E-Books are more general, but include a number of texts and manuals. For more about using NetLibrary see Getting Started with NetLibrary.
Subject Guide |
Denise Bennett206 MSL
273-2864
Send Email
Subjects:
Computer & Information Science & Engineering, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Industrial & Systems Engineering
Your Librarian |
Margeaux JohnsonMarston Science Library
L301A
352-273-2863
Send Email
Subjects:
Agricultural Education & Communication, Civil & Costal Engineering, Mathematics, Statistics, EDGE programs, REEF Programs
Your Librarian |
Amy BuhlerMarston Science Library
Office: L301B
352.273.2879
Send Email
Subjects:
Aerospace Engineering, Agricultural & Biological Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Nuclear & Radiological Engineering
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait