Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of FloridaUniversity of Florida Libraries
Admin Sign In 

Library Resources in the Tenure and Promotion Process  Tags: tenure promotion citation analysis journal rankings  

Last update: Feb 25th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.uflib.ufl.edu/tenure  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Journal Rankings             Print Page
  

Where are you publishing?

The following sites are useful in determining the core journals of a discipline, journal acceptance rates, circulation data, and other information. Keep in mind that not all journals are ranked.  Specialized and regional journals are often missed in ranking services.

 

Journal Citation Reports (1999-2007)

Part of the Thomson (previously ISI) suite of tools, these reports “help determine a publication’s impact and influence in the global research community.” These reports are frequently consulted to determine top research institutions by analyzing faculty publishing trends.

To use: You may select a single journal or clusters of journals by subject category.

Results display title, ISSN, Total Cites, Impact Factor, Immediacy Index, Articles, Cited Half-Life. Impact Factor is the most common metric and is defined as “Average number of times articles from the journal published in the past two years have been cited in the JCR year.” For more definitions see the GLOSSARY

 

Eigen Factor Data
Provides an alternative measure of a journal’s importance in the research community using the same body of journals covered in Thomson’s Journal Citation Reports. “Eigenfactor scores are scaled so that the sum of the Eigenfactor scores of all journals listed in Thomson's Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is 100. In 2006, the journal Nature has the highest Eigenfactor, with a score of 1.992. The top thousand journals, as ranked by Eigenfactor, all have Eigenfactors above 0.01.” [from
FAQ Eigenfactor site, accessed 1/29/09] “Article Influence™ Score(AI) is a measure of a journal's prestige based on per article citations and comparable to Impact Factor.” Includes a Journal Cost-Effectiveness module.

 

SCImago Journal and Country Rank
SCImago Journal and Country Rank (SJR) uses Elsevier’s Scopus journal and country scientific publishing indicators to analyze scientific impact. Comparisons between journals and countries are available, as are visualizations.

 

Journal Ranking by RedJasper
CJR provides a new paradigm to ranking more than 7,000 journals from all disciplines in the social sciences and sciences. While it is b
ased on the Journal of Citation Reports, CJR measures journal quality using other indicators. It also uses the PageRank method used by Google to evaluate the impact of web pages. See the “About” webpages for the methodology used. The website also discusses inherent problems with the Science Citation Index methodology. Considered by some to be more flexible and up-to-date than SCI. For detailed information, free website registration is required.

Journal Info
Prepared by Lund University Libraries, this database gives a summary of quality and publishing practices for about 18,000 titles. Includes information on open access, cost, research standing: indexing, article influence, ISI impact factor availability, etc.

MLA (Modern Language Association) Directory of Publications
This online guide to over 7,000 journals indexed by the MLA International Bibliography covers modern languages and literatures, linguistics, and folklore. Information may include circulation data, peer review status, and journal acceptance rates.


Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory Online

Ulrich’s is available from the UF Libraries website; select it from the “Databases” link. This directory provides information on usage statistics and circulation. It covers active titles and titles that have ceased publication in the last three years. As an aid in citation studies,this directory also lists which Indexes cover each journal title.

      
     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait