Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of FloridaUniversity of Florida Libraries
Admin Sign In 

Library Resources in the Tenure and Promotion Process  Tags: tenure promotion citation analysis journal rankings  

Last update: Feb 25th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.uflib.ufl.edu/tenure  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Databases with citing functions             Print Page
  

Databases

Below is a list of some of the databases that include citation information.

Currently indexes more than 9 million articles.

To find article citing information, go to Advanced Search and select the Specific Author field from the drop down menu. Type in the last name and first and middle initials without periods, e.g., Heft M W ; from the results displayed, click on the title of interest. In the Article Toolbox, you will see a “Cited By” link. Clicking on that will give you a list of the articles that have cited the work of interest.


IEEE Xplore [Covers electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics]

Do an author search (format tips are shown), select AbstractPlus. The complete record includes a field entitled Citing Documents.


MathSciNet [database of the American Mathematical Society]

Do an Author Citations search: last name, first initial*, e.g., Cenzer, D*

The results set gives the 10 most cited publications with the number of cites. This can be expanded to SEE ALL. Please read the Understanding the MR Citation Database for limitations on journal and year coverage.


Go to Advance Search, type in the author’s name: last name first followed by initials without punctuation, e.g., Hillman JD. Once the records are displayed, select either CITED IN PMC (PubMed Central, the repository for articles funded by NIH) or CITED IN BOOKS from the DISPLAY drop down menu.

The Times Cited feature is available in some of the EBSCO databases, e.g. Academic Search Premier, Business Search Premier, Political Science Abstracts Worldwide, Sociological Abstracts, and PsycINFO.  It lists only those citing articles that are available in the same database; thus, it is not comprehensive and will give a  result set prescribed by the database you are using. For now, the Times Cited feature is available only for articles published from 2002 or 2004 on.

      
     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait