Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of FloridaUniversity of Florida Libraries
Admin Sign In 

CHM 2054L: Honors Chemistry Lab 

Last update: Oct 02nd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.uflib.ufl.edu/chm2054L  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Journal articles             Print Page
  
 

Off-campus access

For off-campus access to online journals, databases and e-books, use either:

UF VPN - or - the remote logon page.

When you see Find@UF in your search results, click for access to digital full-text material.
 

Looking for a specific article?

Journal article citations usually look similar to this:

Authorname, A.B. (2008). "Title of article." Journal Name. Vol 25, issue 3, pages 47-58.

Search the Library Catalog for the Journal Name to see if UF subscribes to the journal.
You may see 2 records in the Catalog for your Journal Name.

  • One record has a link to the online version of the journal, and tells you which years we have online.
  • Another record tells you the library, call number (shelf location), and inventory (volumes and issues) that we have in print.
 

Key Sci-Tech Article Databases

The following databases are also helpful when doing research in physical chemistry:

  • Web of Science  
      
    Web of Science is a general science database best known for its citation searching capabilities. It has good coverage of chemistry, but mostly limited to articles from core journals. This database can also help you study how an idea has evolved over time.
  • PubMed (with UF links)  
      
    The source for biomedical information!
  • Google Scholar  
      
    Google's answer to the citation database. Works much like google in that articles are ranked by "popularity". Only goes back to the mid-1990's so not as comprehensive as Web of Science. Great for finding conference proceedings & technical reports, though.
 

SciFinder Scholar

For your assignment you will need to use SciFinder Scholar. There are a few things you need to know about SciFinder Scholar before getting started:

  1. Accessing SciFinder: Register for an account.  After you have registered, you may Connect directly to SFS and log in. 
  2. Off-campus access: If you will be using SciFinder off-campus (at home or wherever), you must use the UF VPN or the library proxy.
  3. View the SciFinder User Guides to learn how to search by structure, molecular formula, and more.
 

Is it peer reviewed/refereed?

Q. Which journals have peer-reviewed articles?

A. To find out if a journal is peer reviewed (also known as refereed), you can use the Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory. Search by journal title, ISSN, etc. and look for the tiny referee shirt as an indicator.

Q. How do I know if an article is peer-reviewed?

A. Not every article in a peer-reviewed journal is a peer-reviewed article. Some scholarly journals also publish letters, conference notes, news items, etc. Look at the full text of the article you're interested in. A peer-reviewed article will show a string of dates, usually either near the abstract or at the bottom of the 1st page of the PDF version or at the end of the article, to indicate that the article was reviewed and usually revised.

Example: Manuscript received November 9, 2007; revised March 5, 2008. Published September 4, 2008.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait