Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of FloridaUniversity of Florida Libraries
Admin Sign In 

Journalism  Tags: journalism mass_communications  

Resources for Journalism research
Last update: Nov 03rd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.uflib.ufl.edu/journalism  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Journalism Websites/Organizations             Print Page
  
 

Journalism Organizations


ACEJMC: Accrediting Council
AASFE: American Association
of Sunday and Feature Editors

ACES: American
Copy Editors Society

AJHA: American Journalism
Historians Association

ASJA: American Society
of Journalists and Authors

ASBPE: American Society
of Business Publication Editors

ASNE: American Society
of Newspaper Editors

AWRT: American Women
in Radio and Television

AAJA: Asian American
Journalists Association

APME: Associated Press
Managing Editors

APSE: Associated Press
Sports Editors

AAEC: Association of American Editorial Cartoonists
AAN: Association of
Alternative Newsweeklies

AEJMC: Association for
Education in Journalism
and Mass Communication

AFJ: Association
of Food Journalists

AHCJ: Association
of Health Care Journalists

AOPE: Association
of Opinion Page Editors

AWC: Association
for Women in Communications

BEA: The Broadcast
Education Association

CAJ: The Canadian
Association of Journalists
College Media Advisers
CSPA: Columbia
Scholastic Press Association

Committee of Concerned Journalists CPJ: Committee
to Protect Journalists

CNJO: Council of National Journalism Organizations
CJJ: Criminal Justice Journalists
Garden Writers Association
IFJ: The International
Federation of Journalists

Inland Press Association
INMA: International Newspaper Marketing Association
IRE: Investigative
Reporters and Editors

JEA: Journalism
Education Association

JAWS: Journalism and
Women Symposium

Journalists Exchange on Aging
Military Reporters and Editors
NAAJA: National Arab American
Journalists Association

NABJ: National Association
of Black Journalists

NAB: National Association
of Broadcasters

NAHJ: National Association
of Hispanic Journalists

NAMIC: National Association for Multi-ethnicity in Communications
NAMME: National Association
of Minority Media Executives

NASW: National Association
of Science Writers

NCEW: National Conference
of Editorial Writers

NEWA: National Education
Writer's Association

NFPW: National Federation
of Press Women

National Freedom
of Information Coalition

NLGJA: National Lesbian
and Gay Journalists Association

NNA: National Newspaper Association NNPA: National Newspaper Publishers Association
National Press Club
NPPA: National Press
Photographers Association

NSNC: National Society
of Newspaper Columnists

NAJA: Native American
Journalists Association

NAA: Newspaper
Association of America

Newspaper Guild
Newswomen's Club of New York
Online News Association
Online Publishers Association
ONO: Organization
of News Ombudsmen

Project for Excellence in Journalism
PJNET: Public Journalism Network
PRNDI: Public Radio News Directors
RTNDA: Radio and Television
News Directors Association

Religion Newswriters Association
Reporters Committee
for Freedom of the Press

Society of American Business
Editors and Writers

Society of American Travel Writers Society of Environmental Journalists
SND: Society for News Design
SPJ: The Society of
Professional Journalists

SAJA: South Asian Journalists Association
SNPA: Southern Newspaper
Publishers Association

White House News
Photographers' Association

World Association of Newspapers
World Editors Forum

 
 

Websites

 

Featured Link: UF Libraries Internet Reference Sources: News and Current Events

Behind The News

News research links and information from Liz Donovan, the former News Researcher at the Miami Herald

Best of the Web

Civic Media Center

The Freedom Forum

The Freedom Forum, Newseum, and Newsroom Diversity information

JournalismNet


The Journalists Toolbox
Fast access to news sites on the Web

Mass Communicating: The Forum on Media and Diversity

Media Tenor International

International media content analysis/monitoring

National Press Club: Library and Research

Reporters Internet Resources

Newswatch.org

Media criticism site with extensive links to other watchdog groups

The Onion

This site is an incredible parody of many popular newspapers such as USA Today. After the fact, it may prove an interesting source for the analysis of American popular culture.

Obscure Store

Another irreverant site but with several links to mainstream journalism, print and electronic sites.

Power Reporting

Thousands of free research tools for journalists

The Poynter Institute

Probably the single best portal on the Web for accessing Journalism resources. Includes an extensive Resource Center as well as News and Commentary, Romanesko's Media News, the Nelson Search Tool For Journalists, and much more.

Regret The Error: Mistakes Happen

Reports on media corrections, retractions, apologies, clarifications and trends regarding accuracy and honesty in the press.     

Reporter.Org

Reporter.org was conceived by Investigative Reporters & Editors as a way to provide a variety of resources to journalists, journalism educators, and the public at large via the Web. Founded with a grant from the Hillman Foundation, the project continues to evolve.

SILHA Center

The SILHA Center at the University of Minnesota is devoted to research in media ethics and freedom of the press issues.

World Press Institute

Internet Links: Journalism History

Florida Journalism History Project

The Florida Journalism History Project identifies collections and documents related to Florida Journalism and provides a Web-based “portal” that simplifies locating and accessing these materials. Consists of full-text digitized materials, bibliographic lists, compiled chronologies, links to relevant special collections or newspaper collections and archives, and any other materials relevant to the topic.

Sources in the History of Mass Communication

An online bibliography made up of books, articles, dissertations, and other academic resources in the field of Mass Communication History. Contains many of the most frequently cited resources in a variety of research areas, as well as many classic older texts. It is also regularly updated to include recently published material.

Poynter Institute Bibliography of Journalism History

Extensive compilation of both online resources and books pertaining to journalism history.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait